Publishing Law Guru ahoy!

June 18, 2009

I have been asked to give an endorsement to a very serious person indeed: a Publishing Law Guru. Yes, a lawyer. This is a man who has helped me out of many a scrape with his excellent, sensible, detailed and very fast advice, if you can imagine getting into a scrape in the not-for-profit sector. (They were never my fault, either, these scrapes. The researchers always go over deadline.) And he also helped me out, in a small way, with my translation of TS Eliot’s poem The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock into Pirate.

Unfortunately, in his email, Bernie made the mistake of mentioning the phrase “in rhyme.”

So that’s it then: the gaff is blown, I’ve written a thing called The Ballad of Bernard Nyman, and it goes in AABB iambic tetrameters – full of jokes, with off rhymes and silly words. (I was particularly fond of “plagiarisers.”)

::hangs head in shame::

Anyway, the good news is that Bernard Nyman now has a blog, called Publishing Law Guru. It is in its early days, but with his wealth of experience and insight I feel sure it will grow into something very interesting.

Leave a Reply

